Old Components


CFM consists of three national Christian bodies comprising 

  • the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Malaysia, 
  • the Council of Churches of Malaysia (CCM) and 
  • the National Evangelical Christian Fellowship (NECF).  

Together they represent 2.62 million Christians which is about 9.2% of the Malaysian population of 28.3 million (2010 Census report).  

Of this number more than 60% of the Christians are Bahasa Malaysia-speaking and are to be found mainly in Sabah, Sarawak and also in Peninsular Malaysia. 

CFM today represents more than 90% of the churches in Malaysia. 

In every state, there is a CFM state liaison committee which liaises with the state authorities on issues affecting the Christian community in the respective states and this committee also forms the Christian component of the various Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism (MCCBCHST) state branches. 

CFM continues to have strong organisational links and relationships with the Sabah Council of Churches (which is led at present by Bishop Datuk Melter Tais, 2017-2019) and the Association of Churches in Sarawak (which is headed today by Rev. Dato’ Dr. Justin Wan, 2017-2019).    

CFM is a member of the Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism (MCCBCHST) and through it we are constituent members of the Cabinet-appointed Committee for the Promotion of Understanding and Harmony among Religious Adherents (JKMPKA).  

CFM is also a member of the Selangor State Committee for Affairs Other than Islam (JHESI) and has been appointed as a member of the Federal Territories Advisory Committee for Non-Islamic Places of Worship (RIBI).   

error: Content is protected !!